Viewers of Sunday’s FCS Championship sat surprised as they were suddenly on an adventure with Tinky Winky, Laa-Laa, Dipsy, and Po during the most important play of South Dakota State’s season.

“You’ve got to be kidding me?! They cut away to a rerun of Teletubbies from 1998 while the biggest play of the season was happening?! It was fun catching up with the ole gang, but if I wanted to watch some nostalgia I would’ve popped in my VHS tapes! To not see the ending of the biggest game of the season is absolutely MAD!” exclaimed one viewer.

The news station switched to the rerun during two separate moments at the end of the game, with the second being the final touchdown to secure a victory for Sam Houston State University over South Dakota State.

“TWICE!?! TWIIIIICE?!?!?” wrote one Twitter user.

“The amount of times I saw Teletubbies today was twice too many!” wrote another Twitter user.

Not all fans were upset with the mistake, though.

“Honestly, I knew they were going to lose. It was kind of nice to see something so pure and innocent at the end of the game. Instead of going to bed angry that my Jacks lost, I went to bed with ‘tubbies. Probably one of the best sleeps I’ve had in YEARS, to be honest!” said one Jacks fan.

We’re also eagerly awaiting people getting equally mad at media stations that break into programming during severe weather during summer months.

The Sioux Falls Headliner
Adam K. White